Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Sabrent USB 2.0 TO SATA/IDE 2.5/3.5/-INCH Hard Drive Converter With Power Supply & LED Activity Lights (EC-AHDD) Reviews and Coupon

~ Sabrent
List Price: $29.99
Price: $14.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $15.00 (50%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

fine product

Worked fine. Unfortunately a couple of my drives were truly dead and would not start up. The others worked fine and I did save the data.

Published 3 hours ago by Jeffrey M. Friedman

Sabrent USB 2.0 Adaptor

Excellent product. If you are using Windows Vista, you may need to reboot before using. Works well. I would recommend to others.

Published 1 day ago by Magno 67

It Worked for Me

I bought the USB-DSC9 to recover data from the Maxtor D740X 3.5" disc removed from a defunct Dell PC. Read more

Published 1 day ago by Ronald Mitchell

Defective product - live with it

Product will not work; missing pin in female receptor and therefore no connection can be made; response of the manufacturer is...wait for it...."it was designed that way. Read more

Published 1 day ago by Bowlist

I was very disappointed with Sabrent technical assistance

I have 2 Seagate IDE hard drives which I tried to read with the Sabrent adapter. I got no response from either one. I used all 6 jumper combinations including none to no avail. Read more

Published 1 day ago by James McGreevy

works great!!!!

use it for everything! even a remote dvd power and connecter for your ultrabook! You can hook up hard drives.. dvd drives..fans to test..floppys.. ghosting harddrives.. Read more

Published 2 days ago by A. Alfiere

Used it to easily transfer files off of several old desktop and laptop...

Does what it's advertised to do! Used it to easily transfer files off of several old desktop and laptop hard drives. Read more

Published 2 days ago by L. Anthony

Pictures, Music and Docs...rescued!

A few years back my laptop crashed due to overheating and refused to even boot. Being a non-technical computer user, I counted all of the files stored on the HDD as lost (I was... Read more

Published 3 days ago by S. Carlson

Does what it says on the box

It's a great little device, allows a SATA drive to act as an external HDD. I didn't test the IDE interface so I can't attest to that but the SATA one worked flawlessly. Read more

Published 3 days ago by Michael Cross

VERY POOR QUALITY CONTROL - TWO BAD ITEMS IN A ROW

O STARS as this is the second device from this maker that was DEAD right out of the box. The first one had a direct short from ground to the 5VDC pins of the Molex drive connector. Read more

Published 3 days ago by DONNA


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

194 of 197 people found the following review helpful

An excellent computer troubleshooting tool to check hardware and backup data quickly!

By jjceo #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on June 14, 2013

Color Name: USB 2.0

Click to watch this video

Length: 5:58 Mins

I build a lot of computers and servers and fix a lot of systems for my family and friends. Having good computer trouble shooting tools is a real benefit when trying to solve problems. If you have to back up somebody's boot drive in an effort to save their operating system this kit is always a good thing to have. It is also nice to be able to back up their files. This USB 2.0 converter allows you to attach SATA and IDE storage devices to your computer in order to test their hardware or to try to save their files.

You can attach a 2.5 inch hard disk drive, a 2.5 inch SSD drive, a SATA or IDE 3.5 inch HDD or a 5.25 DVD or CD player/burner quickly and easily to your computer for testing. One of the most common problems with computers is that the hard disk drives fail or DVD or CD drives fail. With this very nice testing tool you can quickly help to solve the problem and troubleshoot the issue.

Installing a drive is fast and easy and only takes seconds to do. In my testing I installed a SSD drive rated at 3 GB/second and I connected the unit to a USB 3.0 port. I ran speed tests and I have included them in my video.

Inside of the box you will find:
* An AC power supply and the cable is 30 inches long
* A 48 inch long AC power cord.
* There is an USB 2.0 to IDE/SATA converter. It will connect to a 1.8 to 2.5 inch IDE drive or a 3.5 to a 5.25 IDE connector or a SATA connector. The USB cable is 27 inches long.
* An instruction manual
* A power converter cable to power a SATA HDD and the cable is 4 inches long.
* A SATA to SATA extender cable and the cable is 4 inches long.
* A two pin power converter cable 8 inches long.

The kit contains a very nice power supply that will power different styles of drives.
Read more ›

12 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Works like a dream

By JimHCNMT on March 16, 2014

Color Name: USB 2.0 Verified Purchase

Plug-n-Play(well...work, really). Works as advertised. Didn't even realize such a thing existed until reading one of those CNET or How-to-Geek articles (can't remember which). But, I had a stack of old hard drives and they had a solution. Never wanted to hastle with powering down my desktop, opening the case, installing the hard drive, powering back up, etc., etc., just to see what was on an old hard drive. This makes it RIDICULOUSLY easy: plug the AC-DC adapter in to your wall socket, plug the IDE connector in to your hard drive (make sure HD control is set to "Master"), the USB connector into your computer, the power cable into the hard drive and you're done! Open Explorer on your computer and scroll down to where your hard drive is recognized as just another readable device (like a USB thumbdrive, etc.) Couldn't be easier .

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

A very handy and useful device

By J. Chambers HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on June 23, 2013

Color Name: USB 2.0

A couple of years ago, my wife's desktop PC failed. Most of the data was backed up, but there were a few files that I needed to get from one of the 250GB hard drives. I was sure that both internal hard disks had not failed, so I pulled them and inserted them into a 3.5" SATA HDD USB docking station (aka a "toaster") that I bought for about $40. I quickly learned that the disk drives were okay, that something else had caused the crash. The PC was old, so we replaced it, but I kept the two drives in case I ever needed one. I used one of those drives to check out the Sabrent hard drive converter.

First of all, the slim little user's guide that comes with the kit is worthless. There are no illustrations, and the instructions are vague at best. Fortunately, there's a card directing you to Sabrent's website, where there are PDF downloads for their products. There are a lot of products listed, but scroll down or search for product #DSC5 - that's the one you want. The PDF file includes color illustrations and clear instructions, and I was able to get everything connected in a couple of minutes. With the 3.5" hard drive, I needed the AC power supply in the kit. If you use the power supply, be sure to connect it first before connecting the USB cable to the computer. With everything connected, I was able to see the drive and could have copied the files if I needed to.

This is a handy little device, and a very useful one. It's also much less expensive than a hard drive toaster, and with the toasters, you have to buy a separate one for SATA and IDE drives. The Sabrent kit works for either type of drive.

A product sample was provided by the manufacturer for review purposes.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

perfect in case of a crash

By Chel Micheline TOP 100 REVIEWER on August 29, 2013

Color Name: USB 2.0

This item basically lets you access a hard drive that is designed to be operated from *inside* a computer simply by plugging it (using the cord) into another computer's USB port. It's really great if you have a bunch of older hard drives and would like to access the files without having to set up a computer to do so.

The hard drive in my husband's MacBook crashed this past week and this device was a life-saver. He was able to access files from an older hard drive without having to install it in a computer, which saved him hours and made recovery and set up of his new hard drive so much easier.

The quality is not great- the power adapter is cheap and the connectors are incredibly loose- my husband had to monkey with them quite a bit to get it all working. But once it was hooked up, it was fine, and definitely saved the day.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

Color: USB 2.0
  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "Sabrent USB 2.0 TO SATA/IDE 2.5/3.5/-INCH Hard Dri..." and save 52% off the $29.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Used offers.

Product Description

Color: USB 2.0

DESCRIPTION:
Connect any 2.5" or 3.5" IDE/PATA or Serial ATA/SATA Hard Drive externally to your computer through an available USB 2.0 port. The Sabrent EC-AHDD Adapter is a caseless solution that makes swapping hard drives easier than ever before. Transfer data quickly and easily through USB 2.0 at speeds of up to 480Mbs and 52x CD-ROM speeds. Installation is simple and driverless, and LED lights indicate activity to confirm data transfer. One solution for all kinds of hard drives make this a perfect solution for data transfers or data backup!

Features:
* Supports Standard Desktop 3.5" SATA or IDE Hard Drives.
* Supports Standard Notebook 2.5" SATA or IDE Hard Drives.
* Supports Desktop CD-ROM/CD-R/CD-RW/DVD-ROM/DVD+RW.
* LED Lights indicates Power and Activity Status.
* Supports Iomega Zip.
* Hot-swappable, plug and play, no drivers needed.
* Reverse compatible with USB 1.1.

System requirements:
* Available USB port port on the computer.
* Windows: 2000/XP/Vista/7/8 (Both 32-bit and 64-bit versions)
* Mac OS X

What's in the box?
* EC-AHDD
* Power Adapter Power Cord
* Cables
* User Manual

Product Details

Color: USB 2.0

Technical Details

Color: USB 2.0
  • Brand Name: Sabrent
  • Model: EC-AHDD
  • Item Package Quantity: 1
www.reviewwatches.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewwatches.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.